DSLR - display captured image in color?

Questions and answers about the best way to get started with Prism including: est hardware to use, software settings, etc..
Post Reply
rottielover
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:22 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Fri Apr 19, 2019 1:23 pm

I'm feeling pretty stupid right now. I'm testing Prism with my Canon 70D and I cannot get the captured image to display in prizm in anything but black and white. Is there a way to tell Prism to show me what the image looks like in color? (I tried hitting F12 but nothing I select works I just get another B&W version)
rottielover
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:22 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Fri Apr 19, 2019 1:47 pm

So I figured out why the F12 process didn't work, my capture was set to 2x2 bin. When I changed it to 1x1 I was able to use the F12 process to change it to color display.

But that raises another question, I went to Settings -> FITS/CPA and DSLR, the DSLR tab and selected the options to "Auto convert" ... Do you have to hit F12 and enter every time you snap a DSLR sub if you want to see what it looks like in Color?
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:32 pm

no you do not, the option automatically debayers any image you open coming out of a DSLR
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com
Post Reply