Can I software bin master frames?

Questions and answers about the best way to get started with Prism including: est hardware to use, software settings, etc..
Post Reply
rottielover
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:22 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:18 am

If I want to use 2x2 binned images for R G and B for example, do I need shoot bias and darks with 2x2 binning, or can I use my 1x1 calibration masters and bin them in prism?

My camera is the ZWO1600mm-cool so there is no hardware binning as far as I understand. You can set the camera in the driver to bin up to 4x4 but it's doing a software binning.
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:17 pm

you should not bin your calibration frames, just take them at whatever binning to match the lights
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:17 pm

you should not bin your calibration frames, just take them at whatever binning to match the lights
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com
rottielover
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:22 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Wed Apr 24, 2019 7:02 pm

Thank you! :mrgreen:
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Wed Apr 24, 2019 7:06 pm

You’re welcome
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com
Post Reply