Slewing and sync

Questions and answers about the best way to get started with Prism including: est hardware to use, software settings, etc..
edstuckey

Sun Apr 21, 2019 7:05 pm

I’m new to prism, I have the pro version. Some background. I have a paramount Myt, Celestron 8 Edge HD (using an attached moonlight focuser) and a Stellavue 130 refractor, QSI 683 wsg, Primalucelab Eagle 2 pro, and Sesto Senso.
I use SkyX to polar align and run Tpoint and turn on pro track.
I have successfully connected to all my equipment. My question is when I slew to a target does prism also do a sync. If so, will this mess up my tpoint. In the ASCOM settings for the mount I check “ Inhibit Sync to protect Tpoint”. Will this prohibit any sync in prism. I also use SGP and sync must be turned off.
I have not used prism to do any imaging yet, still learning how to set all parameters, watching videos and reading manual..
Are there any other concerns I might encounter using the paramount. I did learn from the forum to have SkyX running in the background.
Thanks,
Ed
rottielover

Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:50 pm

Ed, I can't really say with 100% certainty as I'm still learning Prism and I find out more and more everyday that I did not know about this hobby.

I'm using an Orion Atlas mount via EQmod. The behavior appears to be that if you command a slew there is no sync sent. If I then take an image and platesolve it I'm prompted saying something like "do you want to sync the telescope position to this?" yes sends a sync (I've never clicked no). There is a right click command in prism called "sync telescope to here" or words to that effect, I am not sure if that means "center here and sync" like other programs or not.

I decided today that I need to setup the ASCOM simulators and do a few more tests in prism.

I am not familiar with Tpoint, but I used to be an SGP user myself. In SGP I notice the same behavior, if SGP platesolved a sync would be sent but not on just a slew command.