Pointing Model

Questions and answers about the best way to get started with Prism including: est hardware to use, software settings, etc..
Post Reply
cioc.adrian.dan
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:03 pm

Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:23 pm

Last night I tried to make a pointing model for the east part of the sky. I choose 64 stars in the east, 3 sec exposure and 4x4 bining. For 64 stars it took 34 minutes. but in the end I could not compute the model. Any ideeas about the error?
Attachments
pmodel.jpg
cioc.adrian.dan
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:03 pm

Tue Aug 06, 2019 4:43 am

Problem solved: in the .text file the first line contains something like:
Mount:Eq
1 0.000669520924794 -0.174499652384324 -0.004697363887646 -0.174768121999259 1
2 ..........................................................................................................................

Just delete the first row from the text file, and save the file.
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 500
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Tue Aug 06, 2019 2:15 pm

well done Adrian
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com
cioc.adrian.dan
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:03 pm

Tue Aug 06, 2019 3:38 pm

I spoke to soon :). Ok so if you correct the first line in the text files you can compute the model BUT when you try to upload it there is only one option for 1 cor file not 2! This happend after the prism update wich fixed the direct autofocus error.
Attachments
pomodel.jpg
cioc.adrian.dan
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:03 pm

Sun Aug 11, 2019 1:34 am

Any ideea how to correct the error? Also hiw can I setup the parameters so the points chiosen for modeling are not so close to the meridian?
millermk32
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:50 am

Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:52 am

I experienced a similar problem with the new upgrade. After the download and install, once it was getting dark, I tried starting up my Automated session but kept getting the error that the Pointing Model (which was working) was for a Fork Mount not the Equatorial Mount that I have. The upgrade seemed to somehow change the COR file to not be usable. After trying a couple more times, I decided to just go ahead and create another Pointing Model. So, after this was complete the telescope connected as usual and the automated session, albeit late, seemed to work fine. I don't know if this will work for you in your situation but it seems to work for me.
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 500
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:08 pm

apologies about the delayed response. We have implemented a new and easier way to use your models. Now, PRISM uses one allsky model instead of two.
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com
cioc.adrian.dan
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:03 pm

Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:24 pm

Ok, so how does it work? Do I choose all sky instead of east side and west side of sky? When I choose my points
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 500
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:25 pm

that is exactly true Adrien. It is much simpler. When you compute the pointing model, it will separate East and West and computer the separately all the while keeping it simple
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com
cioc.adrian.dan
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2019 1:03 pm

Sat Aug 17, 2019 1:21 pm

Got it! Thanks
Post Reply