Prism Advanced Camera 3 Plate solve

Hardware and software setups, autoguiding and plate solving parameters, etc..
Locked
amstpils
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:53 pm

Sun Oct 20, 2019 2:42 pm

I purchased The Advance version for the third camera to be used with a Celestron 9x50 finder scope and Meade DSI for plate solving. I have not been able to plate solve in Prism using this combination with an image taken by camera three using a 15 second exposure,
I can take a picture with this combination in PHD2 for 5 seconds and save a file, open in Maxim and plate solve it successfully.
I can also open the same file in Prism and plate solve. it successfully.
I have attached two screen shots that show the Image, Fits Header and the screen stretch.Image
Prism2019-10-18 (1).png
Maxim2019-10-18.png
Prism seems to be setting a low ADU at 0.

I am trying to run Olivier Thizy's script and need to get close to the slit.
As an Alternative an EXE script to add to Thizy,s script to take a save an image from PHD2, where I can then open and plate solve.
Thanks, Al
rottielover
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:22 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Fri Nov 01, 2019 11:45 am

Not sure I can help on this one. @Hamza Touhami calling you in ! :)


From the first screenshot I can tell you my personal experience with Prism is that it's plate solving likes to have a 2x2 binned image for whatever reason this works wonders for my ZWO cameras. If I feed the prism plate solver a short exposure 1x1 it wont' solve, but as soon as I change it to 2x2 binned, poof, it's solved in 2 seconds.
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:39 pm

Can you please send us the fits file that is not solving, I am sire it is a small matter. Dropbox link of Google drive is fine.
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com
amstpils
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:53 pm

Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:29 pm

Here you go 1 binned 1x1 and another binned 2x2
Attachments
Prism_platesolve_2.png
Prism_platesolve_1.png
rottielover
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 8:22 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:42 pm

Can you post the actual FITS files to dropbox or similar? Can't really tell from the screen caps, need to work with the data.
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Mon Nov 04, 2019 7:59 pm

Any screenshots posted can only be of PRISM, it is our main concern.
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com
amstpils
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:53 pm

Thu Nov 07, 2019 1:20 pm

here is the fits header for the Prism image of camera 3 from the original post in text format.
Prism_fit Header_prism3-1-1.txt
(4.42 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
amstpils
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:53 pm

Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:41 am

close the topic.. While the DSI worked in PHD2 the driver apparently doesn't work with Prism.
I replaced the camera with a ZWO ASI 1120
Locked