Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Hardware and software setups, autoguiding and plate solving parameters, etc..
Post Reply
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Hamza Touhami » Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:54 pm

Hello everyone,

You can set up Prism V10 to use a local copy of the relaible Astrometry.net engine(Credit: Andy Galasso) for free, please follow these simple steps:

- Download the installer: http://adgsoftware.com/ansvr/ansvr-setup-0.19.exe
Run the installer
-Click Next or choose an alternate install location:
Setup1.png
Image
-Click Next or choose an alternate Start Menu folder name:
Setup2.png
-Click Next or choose an alternate port number for ansvr:
SetupPort.png
SetupPort.png (9.97 KiB) Viewed 236 times
-Click Install:
Setup3.png
-Wait for files to extract. The progress bar will look like it is stuck in the middle for a long time. Be patient...
Setup4.png
Setup4.png (9.65 KiB) Viewed 236 times
-Click Finish. You can leave both boxes checked.
Setup5.png
Now you will download the astrometric index files that you need for your setup. Select the files you need and click Start. The files are very large (increasingly so for the narrower FOV indexes) and it can take a very long time to download them.
Setup6.png
-Progress of the download is in a separate window. Close the window if you need to cancel the download. Next time you run the index file downloader, progress will resume where it left off.
Setup7.png
Prism side installation: it is very simple to direct Prism to use the offline engine:
1. Click on the Settings menu on the top bar
2. Click on "Software Settings"
3. Click on the "Astrometry.net" tab
4. Set server type: ANSVR (Local Server)
5. API key: please click on the link at the bottom of the tab or go to: http://nova.astrometry.net to register for your own free key.
6.Open one of your images in Prism, right click on it and choose "Perform image center plate solve with Astrometry.net"
7. Your image will be plate solved using the local engine.

Please let me know if you have any trouble installing this great engine, your comments are always welcome.

Clear skies
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image

Cyril Cavadore
Site Admin
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Cyril Cavadore » Sat Jun 03, 2017 12:36 am

Great tuto !
Thanks Hamza!
Cyril Cavadore
Principal Prism Author,
Alcor-System
www.alcor-system.com

jackfd53
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 11:17 am

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by jackfd53 » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:50 pm

Hi...

Any time I try to use Astronmetry.net (locally or on the web) I get this error message...

"Astrometry.Net could not calibrate this image : PLUG-IN-ASCOM.AstrometryNet.Switch is not installed"

Any idea what this is all about? I'd emailed Bob about this before and never really got a satisfactory answer

Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Hamza Touhami » Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:01 pm

Hello

There is a missing ASCOM component that you can download below, this will fix the issue. Let me know what you find out please.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jjad4x2bwoy5k ... p.zip?dl=1
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image

User avatar
DarkSky OnDemand
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:14 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by DarkSky OnDemand » Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:52 am

Hamza,
This is great information - I did the setup as shown and it works perfectly... Thanks!

-E

DarkSky Admin
https://darkskyondemand.com
Dark Skies and Phenomenal Seeing!

- Ed

DarkSky OnDemand
https://darkskyondemand.com

Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Hamza Touhami » Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:12 am

You are welcome Sir, This provides a huge advantage to being perfectly centered in the field with no access to an internet connection. This marvel is here thanks for Andy Galasso, he genius is appreciated by all of us.
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image

Richard McCall
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 9:33 am

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Richard McCall » Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:18 am

Having set up the local copy according to directions, I find that the plate-solving proceeds to the end but never opens the plate-solved image. Nor does it ask if I want to sync to the center of the plate-solved image.

This whole process works fine using the Astrometry.net remote server.

Any advise?

Thanks,
Richard

Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Hamza Touhami » Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:39 pm

Hi Richard

Very strange bahavior, can you please perform these tasksL
  • Head over to this file and double click on it? i am using the default installation path here: C:\Program Files (x86)\Astrometry.net Local Solver\start_ansvr.bat
  • Please copy and paste the output of Astrometry.net in Prism in the window that appears on the top right

hopefully, this will get it resolved, please let us know how this fix works.

Thanks
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image

Richard McCall
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 9:33 am

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Richard McCall » Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Thanks.

When I double click on that file I get a momentary opening of the command prompt screen which closes before I can paste anything into it.

I've tried re-installing the program but to no avail.

Richard

Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Hamza Touhami » Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:42 pm

Thanks Richard

Double clicking on the file does start the engine and quickly disappearing DOS window is normal, I will reach out to you offline now.

P.S: Whatever solution we get to needs to be posted here to help others.
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image

Richard McCall
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 9:33 am

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Richard McCall » Tue Oct 03, 2017 11:46 am

Here are some further details that might help in your analysis of the ansvr plug-in for Prism:

1) The log for the solving session produces the following output:

ansvr 0.19 start
loading config from /var/tmp/platesolve/config
read port 8080 from reg
using scale error override value 5 percent
using downsample 2
solution coordinates will use epoch J2000
saving config to /var/tmp/platesolve/config
can't setup server: Address already in use at /opt/ansvr/ansvr line 1318
waiting for data. . . (interrupt to abort)

2)The Astronomy.net output screen in Prism takes a considerable time processing "Plate solve image retrieval pending. . ." but then completes the process and reports "Retrieved plate solved image." However, no image appears.

3) I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the plug-in using Administrator privilege, but this had no effect.

4) I tried a different port assignment, but this had no effect.

Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Hamza Touhami » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:55 am

Good morning Richard

The plugin you are using ( which is posted here) seems to be out of date, i will post the updated one soon.

Thanks for your report.
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image

Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Hamza Touhami » Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:19 pm

Hi Richard

Please install the latest Astrometry.net plugin using the link below, Please report back after you install it to ensure proper operation.

Thanks.


Astrometry.net
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image

Richard McCall
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 9:33 am

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Richard McCall » Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:57 pm

Sorry to say, but the new plug-in makes no difference. The solved image will not load in Prism using ansvr. According to the log, the plate-solve works, but the image never appears. I have tried the program on two computers with the same results.

I have checked for conflicts using the netstat command. I am now running ansvr on localhost 6000 as 8080 is used by TeamViewer. However, that has not solved the problem.

Both plug-ins (the original and the new one) work fine with the remote server, although the new one seems slower.

As I have internet access in my observatory, I will continue to access Astrometry.net remotely. I think ansvr is just too quirky to be of use.

Thanks for your help,
Richard

Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Hamza Touhami » Thu Oct 05, 2017 1:52 pm

Richard

If understand you correctly, you want the local astrometry.net engine to output an annotated JPEG image of the solved image you are supplying to it after solving?
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image

Richard McCall
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 9:33 am

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Richard McCall » Thu Oct 05, 2017 4:27 pm

Yes. Just as the remote server does. Is that not what the local engine does?

Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Hamza Touhami » Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:34 pm

Good afternoon Richard

I have been using the local version for a great while and i do not think it will return the annotated JPEG, just the plate solved coordinates that i use to synchronize the mount.

Hope this helps.

Rev1: corrected spelling.
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image

Richard McCall
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 9:33 am

Re: Setting up a local copy of Astrometry.net

Post by Richard McCall » Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:10 pm

Ahh! Thanks for the heads up.

I imagined that it did the same thing as the on-line version, especially since the output screen says that an image has been retrieved just as in the on-line version.

This is a confusion in the program. It really isn't a local version of the Astronomy.net plate-solver. It merely uses the Astronomy.net engine to return plate-solved coordinates.

Post Reply