QHY 174M-GPS Issues

CCD cameras (CMOS/CCD), DSLRs, telescope mounts, focusers, autoguiders, domes, Roll off roofs, etc..
Post Reply
steve_conard
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:25 pm

Sat May 12, 2018 11:40 am

Hi,

I am a brand-new user, and having problems right out of the box. I am trying to interface to a QHY-174M-GPS, and seem to be able to connect to the camera. I can successfully set the temperature, for example. But when I try to take an image, it counts down then hangs-up on the download and never produces an image. If I hit stop, it just says "digitizing" and never changes with almost all the buttons greyed out until a timeout occurs in 2 minutes.

The camera works fine with my other software.

Also, where are the controls to enable and disable the camera's built-in GPS and the timestamp printed on each image?

Note that I'm software challenged--don't assume it isn't some extremely simple issue. Thanks!

Steve
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Sat May 12, 2018 1:57 pm

Hi Steve and thanks for joining us, it was a pleasure chatting with you at NEAF

Can you send us sample images with good FTIS headers so we can open them and inspect what's going on?

Thanks
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image
steve_conard
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:25 pm

Sun May 13, 2018 5:46 pm

Hamza,

It was good chatting with you as well. I'm heading out of town on business, I'll get you some more information when I return late in the week.

Thanks.

Steve
steve_conard
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:25 pm

Sun May 20, 2018 1:48 pm

Hamza,

I'm back from my travels. You asked for sample images with good FITS headers--the problem I'm having is it never gets to that point. The exposure time just counts down to zero, and sits there. I don't see anything being saved.

Thanks.

Steve
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Sun May 20, 2018 2:10 pm

Hi Steve. In this instance we will need the log file of your session, you can activate this by going to observatory then log file. Just enable the log file by check in the box at the top left. Restart Prism and go through the steps just like you would normally then shut down present. Your log files are present inside your documents folder then inside the prison hi Steve. In this instance we will need the log file of your session, you can activate this by going to observatory then log file. Just enable the log file by check in the box in the top left. Restart Prism and go through the steps just like you would normally then shut down prism. Your log files are present inside your documents folder then inside the prism folder.
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image
steve_conard
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:25 pm

Sun May 20, 2018 3:47 pm

Here is the file, I had to rename it to .txt to be able to attach it.


Steve
Hamza Touhami
Site Admin
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Contact:

Wed May 23, 2018 10:16 am

I don't see the attached file Steve, can you just send it to me to hyperion.astronomy@gmail.com instead? Also, after speaking with Cyril about this, he did clarify that ASCOM might not have the GPS property in it, can you please run the camera using its native driver. Under hardware, choose QHY instead of ASCOM
Hamza Touhami | Site Administrator
Hyperion-Astronomy.com

Image
Post Reply